3rd Place for Lynne at the Anfield 100.

Anfield 100. 30th May 2016.

The Anfield 100 is one of the “classics” of the time trialing calendar. First held in 1889 and organised by the Anfield Bicycle Club, it has produced many great rides by time trial legends including Andy “Wilko” Wilkinson and Lynne Biddulph (nee Taylor).

An early get up for many of the riders to make their way to the HQ at Shawbury with the first rider off at 6:01am. The weather forecast was for sunny weather with a wind that slowly increased throughout the morning.

Born to Bike RT’s first rider to start was Dave, off at 6:58am. Phil followed at 7:24am and finally Lynne at 7:34am. They all made good time on the first section of the course to Prees Island roundabout with Dave seeing his team-mates on the opposite side of the dual carriageway on his way down to Tern Hill Island as they were heading up towards Prees Island.

The main circuit is an undulating loop on both ‘A’ and ‘B’ roads, including the notoriously pot-holed section along the A442, and is ridden four times. There are some flat, straight sections and a cheeky little steep section at the High Ercall roundabout. The early breeze had slowly increased throughout the morning making parts of the course at times a bit of a slog. Once on the circuit the support from both marshals and spectators increased with every rider getting lots of cheers especially at Espley Island which is always a popular place to view this race from. Even the faster riders shouted support to slower riders as they overtook them. That’s all part of the camaraderie within the time trialing community. Especially at the longer distance events.

All of the team put in great rides. Lynne finished the race in a time of 4:33:29 and was placed 3rd in the Ladies competition, 44th overall. Between the top three women riders there was only a time difference of 62 seconds! Phil finished in a time of 4:49:29, 57th overall, and Dave 5:07:04, 66th overall. There were 79 finishers, 8 DNF’s and 13 DNS’s.

A new men’s course record was set by Ryan Perry who smashed the previous record and finished in an incredible time of 3:33:20.

Men’s Result

Ryan Perry Langdale Lightweights CC. 3:33:20

Richard Bideau Pendle Forest CC. 3:36:18

Steve Irwin North Lancs RC. 3:42:10

Women’s Result

Jessica Rhodes-Jones Beacon Roads CC. 4:32:27

Rachael Mellor Holmfirth CC. 4:32:59

Lynne Biddulph Born to Bike Bridgtown Cycles. 4:33:29

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s